About Bron

I was born in a small town in Africa. Selukwe, Rhodesia / Zimbabwe in 1950.

I was fortunate to have parents who believed children were ‘apprentice adults’ and my childhood was the opposite of many of my contemporaries who were ‘seen and not heard’. No subject was taboo – and we were encouraged to discuss things we had learned during one of the soirees at any time afterwards. Sex education at it’s best.

My two brothers and I

One of the biggest take-aways from this different childhood compared to my peers was that if you saw or heard of an injustice and did nothing to intervene – then it was deemed that you were as guilty as the perpetrator of the ‘evil’ – Natural Justice 101. I went to boarding school, aged 13, full of confidence and with the courage of my own convictions. One of the first ‘injustices’ I discovered was the juniors at the boarding school were made to carry the boots of the prefects – it was called ‘skivying’. I refused on the grounds that it was demeaning and a form of slavery. Oh dear, as is often the case – my voice gave others courage and I was branded as a ‘trouble maker’. ‘Skivying’ ceased but from that time on my life at boarding school was not the most fun time of my existence. Fortunately, I loved school classes and in the afternoons there was swimming and diving. Life was not all bad.

My parents instilled in me the belief that anything was possible if I applied myself and I was encouraged to follow my dream to experience different occupations and travel.

I have lived and worked in Rhodesia, Botswana, Namibia, South Africa, UK, and Australia.

I have three daughters, four grandchildren and have been with my partner Ken for the past five years.

Ken and I have been living aboard our 10m Adams steel sailboat, SV Nichola for the past three years. We have sailed over 9000 nautical miles and have explored the East coast of Australia, Lord Howe Island, New Zealand’s north island, Tonga, Fiji, New Caledonia and returned to Tasmania.

Ken and I at my youngest daughter’s wedding.